Safety Study of Mesenchymal Stem Cells in Humans with Multiple Sclerosis
A Phase 1 interventional study enrolled an estimated 15 human participants to evaluate the safety of cultured allogeneic adult umbilical cord or placental derived mesenchymal stem cells. Four-year follow-up was planned, but no results have been posted.
- Tags
- #Other
- Most relevant to
- —
- Source
- Read original source
- Human efficacy
- Not established from this source
- Mechanism
- Not reported
- Evidence strength
- No results yet
- Outcome
- Not reported
Why it matters
Understanding the safety of mesenchymal stem cells could inform future therapeutic approaches for multiple sclerosis, but without results, implications remain unclear.
What this does not prove
The lack of posted results means we cannot assess safety or any adverse events; planned enrollment does not equate to findings.
Next milestone
No next milestone was established from the available source.
Study facts
- Study design
- Interventional
- Participants / samples
- 15 · estimated
- Randomised
- Not applicable
- Controlled
- No
- Primary endpoint met
- Not reported
- Relevant MS type
- All
- Publication date
- Not reported
- Evidence reviewed
- Trial registry record
- Regulatory approval
- Not reported
- Research areas
- Not classified
- Biological target
- Not reported
- Pathway
- Not reported
- Population
- Not reported
- Size of effect
- Not reported
- Secondary endpoints
- Not reported
- MRI endpoints
- Not reported
- Biomarkers
- Not reported
- Safety
- Not reported
Original sources
Supporting passages (17)
study phasePhase: Phase 1
study designStudy type: Interventional
subjectsParticipants: people; sex All
speciessex All
sample sizeEnrollment: 15 participants (estimated)
sample size basisEnrollment: 15 participants (estimated)
randomizedAllocation: Not applicable
peer reviewedPublication date: unknown.
relevant ms typesConditions: Multiple Sclerosis
interventionInterventions: cultured allogeneic adult umbilical cord or placental derived mesenchymal stem cells
comparatorAllocation: Not applicable
primary endpointPrimary endpoints: Safety (adverse events)
follow upFollow-up: Four year follow-up
limitationsNo results are posted. Planned enrolment and endpoints are not findings.
findingsTrial registry record. Publication date: unknown. No results are posted. Planned enrolment and endpoints are not findings.
peer reviewedTrial registry record.
controlledIntervention model: Single group
AI assessment, not yet reviewed by a person · version 3 · Community votes are separate from evidence review.