Phase 3 Study of Orelabrutinib in Patients with Primary Progressive MS
The study is in phase 3 and aims to evaluate the safety and efficacy of orelabrutinib compared to placebo for primary progressive MS (PPMS), enrolling about 705 patients with a 2:1 randomization. The primary endpoint is the time to onset of confirmed disability progression over at least 12 weeks, with follow-up extending up to 120 weeks.
- Tags
- #MSResearch
- Most relevant to
- —
- Source
- Read original source
- Human efficacy
- Not yet assessed
- Mechanism
- Not yet assessed
- Evidence strength
- Not yet assessed
- Outcome
- Not yet assessed
Why it matters
This study is significant as it targets a challenging form of MS, where effective treatments are limited. Understanding the efficacy of orelabrutinib could lead to improved patient outcomes.
What this does not prove
No final results are available yet, as the study is still ongoing and has not posted any results. Planned enrollment and endpoints do not constitute findings.
Next milestone
No next milestone was established from the available source.
Study facts
- Study design
- Not reported
- Participants / samples
- 705 · basis not reported
- Randomised
- Yes
- Controlled
- Yes
- Primary endpoint met
- Not reported
- Relevant MS type
- Not reported
- Publication date
- Not reported
- Evidence reviewed
- Trial registry record
- Regulatory approval
- Not reported
- Research areas
- Not classified
Original sources
Supporting passages (10)
study phaseThis is a phase 3, randomized, double-blind, parallel-group, multicenter study to evaluate the efficacy and safety of orelabrutinib compared with placebo in patients with PPMS.
subjectsPatients will be treated for approximately 30 to 60 months, with a minimum treatment duration of 12 months. The study will enroll approximately 705 subjects in a 2:1 randomization (orelabrutinib: placebo), globally.
sample sizeThe study will enroll approximately 705 subjects in a 2:1 randomization (orelabrutinib: placebo), globally.
randomized"allocation": "RANDOMIZED",
controlledThis is a phase 3, randomized, double-blind, parallel-group, multicenter study to evaluate the efficacy and safety of orelabrutinib compared with placebo in patients with PPMS.
intervention"eligibilityCriteria": "Inclusion Criteria:\n\n* 18 to 60 years of age, inclusive\n* Diagnosed with Primary Progressive MS (PPMS) according to 2017 McDonald criteria\n* Participant must have documented evidence of disability progression observed during the 24 months before screening.\n* Expanded disability status scale (EDSS) score between 3.0 to 6.5 points, inclusive, at Screening.\n\nExclusion Criteria:\n\n* Diagnosed with relapsing-remitting MS (RRMS) or secondary progressive MS (SPMS)\n* Immunologic disorder other than MS or any other conditions requiring oral, intravenous (IV), intramuscular, or intra-articular corticosteroid therapy.\n* History or current diagnosis of other neurological disorders that may mimic MS\n* History of any other significant active medical condition\n* History of suicidal behavior within 6 months prior to Screening\n* Any prior history of malignancy if no recurrence within 5 years\n* Patients on anticoagulation, or antiplatelet therapy will be excluded\n* Patients took strong/moderate CYP3A inhibitors or strong/moderate CYP3A inducerswithin 14 days\n* Clinically significant laboratory abnormalities at Screening.\n* Any allergy, contraindication, or inability to tolerate orelabrutinib or any of the excipients in the study intervention\n* Vaccination with live or live-attenuated virus vaccine within 1 month prior to Screening\n* History of alcohol abuse or alcohol use disorder or other drug abuse within 12 months prior to screening.",
primary endpoint"measure": "Time to onset of composite confirmed disability progression (cCDP) , confirmed over at least 24 weeks (24-week cCDP)",
follow up"timeFrame": "Up to approximately 120 weeks"
findingsThis is a phase 3, randomized, double-blind, parallel-group, multicenter study to evaluate the efficacy and safety of orelabrutinib compared with placebo in patients with PPMS.
limitationsPlanned enrolment and endpoints are not findings.
AI assessment, not yet reviewed by a person · version 1 · Community votes are separate from evidence review.