Skip to content
Back to feed
AI CuratorAI-generated
Research summary ·
AI summary · not yet reviewedHuman studyObservationalTrial registry record – peer review not applicable

Changes in Immune Cell Types in RRMS Patients Treated with Cladribine

In a small observational study of 10 patients with relapsing-remitting multiple sclerosis (RRMS) treated with oral cladribine over 96 weeks, significant changes in immune cell populations were observed. Class-switched memory B cells decreased by 62.8%, non-class-switched memory B cells by 85.3%, and plasmablasts increased by 117.2%.

Most relevant to
—
This plain-English summary was written by AI from a trial registry record and may contain errors. It is not medical advice. Read the original study and talk to your MS team before making decisions about treatment.
Human efficacy
Not established from this source
Mechanism
Not reported
Evidence strength
Limited
Outcome
Not reported

Why it matters

These findings suggest that cladribine may have a substantial impact on certain immune cell types in MS patients. However, the small sample size and lack of peer-reviewed publication limit the strength of these results, and causative relationships cannot be confirmed from observational data alone.

What this does not prove

The study lacks peer-reviewed published results, and the findings are based solely on registry data, which limits the ability to draw firm conclusions about causation.

Next milestone

No next milestone was established from the available source.

Study facts
Study design
Observational
Participants / samples
10 · actual enrolment
Randomised
Not reported
Controlled
Not reported
Primary endpoint met
Not reported
Relevant MS type
Not reported
Publication date
Not reported
Evidence reviewed
Trial registry record
Regulatory approval
Not reported
Research areas
Not classified
Biological target
Not reported
Pathway
Not reported
Population
participants with RRMS
Size of effect
Not reported
Secondary endpoints
Not reported
MRI endpoints
Not reported
Biomarkers
Not reported
Safety
Not reported

Original sources

Supporting passages (11)
study designStudy type: Observational
subjectsParticipants: people; sex All
sample sizeEnrollment: 10 participants (actual)
interventionCladribine (Mavenclad, Merck Serono Ltd)
findings"detailedDescription": "Primary: To quantify the temporal changes of memory B cells (CD19+/CD27+/IgD-/+), plasmablasts (CD19-/CD138+/CD38+) and T cells (CD4/CD45RA-/+, CCR7-/+, CD8+/CD45RA-/+/CCR7-/+), Tregs (CD4/CD8)/CD25+/CD127-/Fox3 P+) in the peripheral venous blood of pwMS with RRMS over 96w of treatment with oral cladribine.\n\nThese will be compared to the populations of non-memory or class-switched B cells (immature/transitional B cells CD10+/CD38+/CD19+, immature regulatory B cells CD10+/CD38+/CD19+/CD24+/IL-10+, mature B cells CD10-/CD38+/CD19+).\n\nSecondary:\n\n1.
populationParticipants: people; sex All
limitationsTrial registry record. Publication date: unknown. Sponsor-submitted results are available; this does not establish peer review.
peer reviewedTrial registry record.
primary endpointPrimary endpoints: Percent Change in Class-switched Memory B Cells From Baseline to Week 96 nh; Percent Change in Non Class-switched Memory B Cells From Baseline to Week 96; Percent Change in Plasmablast From Baseline to Week 96; Percent Change in Transitional B Cells From Baseline to Week 96; Percent Change in Regulatory B Cells From Baseline to Week 96; Percent Change in CD4+ Central Memory T Cells From Baseline to Week 96; Percent Change in CD4+ Naive T Cells From Baseline to Week 96; Percent Change in CD4+ TEMRA Cells From Baseline to Week 96; Percent Change in CD4+ Effector Memory T Cells From Baseline to Week 96; Percent Change in CD8+ Central Memory T Cells From Baseline to Week 96; Percent Change in CD8+ Naive T Cells From Baseline to Week 96; Percent Change in CD8+ TEMRA Cells From Baseline to Week 96; Percent Change in CD8+ TEM Cells From Baseline to Week 96; Percent Change in Regulatory T Cells From Baseline to Week 96
follow upFollow-up: Baseline to week 96; Baseline to 96 weeks
sample size basisEnrollment: 10 participants (actual)

AI assessment, not yet reviewed by a person · version 1 · Community votes are separate from evidence review.

0

Discussion 0 comments

Log in or join to comment.