Skip to content
Back to feed
AI CuratorAI-generated
Research summary ·
AI summary · not yet reviewedHuman studyPhase 3Trial registry record – peer review not applicable

Phase 3 Study on Rapamycin for Drug-Resistant Epilepsy in Patients with Tuberous Sclerosis Complex

A Phase 3 interventional study planned to enroll 200 patients aged 3 months to 50 years with drug-resistant epilepsy related to Tuberous Sclerosis Complex (TSC). The study aimed to compare seizure reduction between rapamycin and placebo groups, as well as assess adverse events. However, no results have been published yet.

Most relevant to
—
This plain-English summary was written by AI from a trial registry record and may contain errors. It is not medical advice. Read the original study and talk to your MS team before making decisions about treatment.
Human efficacy
Not yet shown in people
Mechanism
Not reported
Evidence strength
No results yet
Outcome
Not reported

Why it matters

This research seeks to determine if rapamycin can effectively reduce seizures in patients with TSC, a condition with significant unmet medical needs. The outcomes could lead to new treatment avenues for drug-resistant epilepsy.

What this does not prove

No results are posted; therefore, efficacy and safety outcomes have not been established, leaving the study's impact unknown.

Next milestone

No next milestone was established from the available source.

Study facts
Study design
Interventional
Participants / samples
200 · estimated
Randomised
Yes
Controlled
Yes
Primary endpoint met
Not reported
Relevant MS type
Not reported
Publication date
Not reported
Evidence reviewed
Trial registry record
Regulatory approval
Not reported
Research areas
Not classified
Biological target
Not reported
Pathway
Not reported
Population
male or female aged from 3 months up to 50 years with definite diagnosis of Tuberous Sclerosis Complex and drug-resistant epilepsy associated with TSC
Size of effect
Not reported
Secondary endpoints
comparison of the number of seizures per week and the number of days free of seizures in the rapamycin vs placebo group, during 12-week treatment in double-blind core phase; severity of adverse events (according to CTCAE) and the number of patients withdrawn from the study due to adverse events in the rapamycin vs placebo group
MRI endpoints
Not reported
Biomarkers
Not reported
Safety
Not reported

Original sources

Supporting passages (19)
study phasePhase: Phase 3
study designStudy type: Interventional
subjectsParticipants: people; ages from 3 Months to 50 Years; sex All
speciesParticipants: people; ages from 3 Months to 50 Years; sex All
sample sizeEnrollment: 200 participants (estimated)
sample size basisEnrollment: 200 participants (estimated)
randomizedAllocation: Randomized
controlledArm types: Experimental; Placebo comparator
peer reviewedPublication date: unknown.
interventionInterventions: Rapamycin; Placebo
comparatorInterventions: Rapamycin; Placebo
primary endpointPrimary endpoints: comparison of the number of patients with at least 50% reduction of seizures per week in the last month of the core blinded phase in comparison to screening phase in the rapamycin vs placebo group; number of adverse events (according to CTCAE classification) in the rapamycin vs placebo group during the double-blind core phase
follow upFollow-up: final analyses after the formal final database lock, planned within one month after the last patient last visit in the study
population"eligibilityCriteria": "Inclusion Criteria:\n\n* male or female aged from 3 months up to 50 years at the day of randomization\n* patients/parents/caregivers are willing to and able to give informed consent form for the participation in the study\n* patients/parents/caregivers are willing to and able to comply with all study requirements\n* definite diagnosis of TSC according to the Consensus criteria (Northrup, 2013)\n* drug-resistant epilepsy associated with TSC with at least 8 seizures during 4 weeks\n\nExclusion Criteria:\n\n* history of treatment with mTOR inhibitor in the three months prior to screening,\n* history of pseudo-epileptic seizures,\n* history of progressive CNS disease other than TSC\n* recent surgery within 2 weeks prior to the screening\n* severe infection within 2 weeks prior to the screening\n* use of the cannabis derivatives\n* contraindications for MRI or general anesthesia\n* occurrence of the serious comorbidities which, in the opinion of the investigator, may either put a patient at significant risk associated with the participation in the study or may influence the results of the study the investigator\n* pregnancy",
secondary endpoints"measure": "comparison of the number of seizures per week and the number of days free of seizures in the rapamycin vs placebo group, during 12-week treatment in double-blind core phase",
human efficacyNo results are posted.
findingsTrial registry record. Publication date: unknown. No results are posted. Planned enrolment and endpoints are not findings.
limitationsTrial registry record. Publication date: unknown. No results are posted. Planned enrolment and endpoints are not findings.
peer reviewedTrial registry record.

AI assessment, not yet reviewed by a person · version 2 · Community votes are separate from evidence review.

0

Discussion 0 comments

Log in or join to comment.