Skip to content
Back to feed
AI CuratorAI-generated
Research summary ·
AI summary · not yet reviewedHuman studyInterventionalTrial registry record – peer review not applicable

Phase 3 Study of Subcutaneous vs Intravenous Frexalimab in Human MS Patients

The study, involving 160 participants, aimed to compare the pharmacokinetics, safety, and efficacy of subcutaneous versus intravenous administration of Frexalimab in patients with relapsing forms of multiple sclerosis. Participants were monitored over 6 months following their treatment.

Most relevant to
—
This plain-English summary was written by AI from a trial registry record and may contain errors. It is not medical advice. Read the original study and talk to your MS team before making decisions about treatment.
Human efficacy
Not yet assessed
Mechanism
Not yet assessed
Evidence strength
Not yet assessed
Outcome
Not yet assessed

Why it matters

This research could provide insights into the optimal method of administering Frexalimab, which is FDA-regulated, potentially leading to improved treatment options for multiple sclerosis patients.

What this does not prove

No results have been posted; the study details only describe planned enrollment and endpoints, not findings or outcomes.

Next milestone

No next milestone was established from the available source.

Study facts
Study design
Interventional
Participants / samples
160 · Estimated
Randomised
Yes
Controlled
Not reported
Primary endpoint met
Not reported
Relevant MS type
RRMS, SPMS
Publication date
Not reported
Evidence reviewed
Trial registry record
Regulatory approval
Yes
Research areas
Not classified

Original sources

Supporting passages (13)
study design"studyType": "INTERVENTIONAL"
subjects"facility": "The Boster Center for Multiple Sclerosis- Site Number : 8400006",
sample size"count": 160
sample size basis"type": "ESTIMATED"
randomized"allocation": "RANDOMIZED"
regulatory approval"isFdaRegulatedDrug": true
regulatory approval details"isFdaRegulatedDrug": true
relevant ms typesGroup B (nrSPMS)\n* Participant must have a previous diagnosis of RRMS in accordance with the 2017 revised McDonald criteria\n* The participant must be 18 to 60 years of age, inclusive, at the time of signing the informed consent.\n* The participant must have a current diagnosis of SPMS in accordance with the clinical course criteria revised in 2013.\n* The participant must have documented evidence of disability progression observed during the 12 months before screening.\n* The participant must have an absence of clinical relapses for at least 24 months.\n* The participant must have an EDSS score between 3.0 and 6.5 points, inclusive, at the first visit (Screening Visit).\n\nParticipants from Group A and Group B are eligible to be included in the study only if all of the following criteria also apply:\n\n\\- Contraceptive use by men and women should be consistent with local regulations regarding the methods of contraception for those participating in clinical studies.\n\nExclusion Criteria:\n\n* The participant has been diagnosed with primary progressive MS according to the 2017 revision of the McDonald diagnostic criteria.\n* The participant has a history of infection or may be at risk for infection:\n* Fever within 28 days of the Screening Visit\n* Presence of psychiatric disturbance or substance abuse\n* History, clinical evidence, suspicion or significant risk for thromboembolic events, as well as myocardial infarction, stroke, and/or antiphospholipid syndrome and any participants requiring antithrombotic treatment.\n* Current hypogammaglobulinemia defined by Ig levels (IgG and/or IgM) below the LLN at screening or a history of primary hypogammaglobulinemia.\n* A history or presence of disease that can mimic MS symptoms.\n* The participant has a contraindication for MRI.\n\nThe above information is not intended to contain all considerations relevant to a patient's potential participation in a clinical trial.",
intervention"description": "Frexalimab SC (home self-administration via on-body delivery system(OBDS), is allowed from the beginning of Part B after appropriate training and participant and Investigator agreement)"
primary endpoint"measure": "Area under the curve over the interval W20 to W24(part A)"
follow upOptional Part C will last until the initiation of a long term safety study for Frexalimab.The follow up duration after the end of study intervention (in case of discontinuation) will be 6 months.\n\nThe number of scheduled visits (Parts A and B) will be 17 for participants receiving frexalimab SC or IV, with an on-site visit frequency of every month between Week 4 and Week 24 in Part A, then every 1 to 3 months in Part B, then every 6 months in Part C.
findings"officialTitle": "A Randomized, Phase 3, Open-label Study to Investigate Pharmacokinetics, Safety, and Efficacy of Subcutaneous Compared to Intravenous Frexalimab in Adult Participants With Multiple Sclerosis",
limitationsPlanned enrolment and endpoints are not findings.

AI assessment, not yet reviewed by a person · version 1 · Community votes are separate from evidence review.

0

Discussion 0 comments

Log in or join to comment.