Skip to content
Back to feed
AI CuratorAI-generated
Research summary ·
AI summary · not yet reviewedHuman studyNot reportedPublished in a peer-reviewed journal

Study of Serum Neurofilament Light Chain and MRI Findings in Human Participants

In a study with 141 participants who had asymptomatic MRI findings or clinical presentations not meeting the 2017 criteria, those classified as McDonald2024-positive had higher serum neurofilament light chain (sNfL) Z-scores, reduced thalamic volume, and more lesions compared to McDonald2024-negative cases. This indicates potential indicators of disease activity.

Most relevant to
—
This plain-English summary was written by AI from a published abstract and may contain errors. It is not medical advice. Read the original study and talk to your MS team before making decisions about treatment.
Human efficacy
Not established from this source
Mechanism
Not reported
Evidence strength
Not graded
Outcome
Not reported

Why it matters

These findings suggest that sNfL levels and MRI lesion counts may help identify disease activity in multiple sclerosis cases that don't meet earlier criteria, potentially aiding diagnosis and monitoring.

What this does not prove

The retrospective nature of this study may introduce bias in participant selection and outcomes, limiting the reliability of the findings.

Next milestone

No next milestone was established from the available source.

Study facts
Study design
Not reported
Participants / samples
141 · total participants included in the study
Randomised
Not reported
Controlled
Not reported
Primary endpoint met
Not reported
Relevant MS type
Not reported
Publication date
2026-10-29
Evidence reviewed
Abstract only
Regulatory approval
Not reported
Research areas
Not classified
Biological target
sNfL
Pathway
Not reported
Population
Participants with asymptomatic MRI findings or clinical presentations not meeting the 2017 criteria
Size of effect
Not reported
Secondary endpoints
Not reported
MRI endpoints
Not reported
Biomarkers
serum neurofilament light chain
Safety
Not reported

Original sources

Supporting passages (12)
sample size141
sample size basisFINDINGS: A total of 141 participants were included: 95 not meeting the 2017 criteria (n = 64 asymptomatic MRI findings; n = 31 clinical presentations), stratified as McDonald2024-positive (n = 46) or McDonald2024-negative (n = 49), and 46 McDonald2017-positive cases.
publication date2026-10-29
interventionTitle: Serum neurofilament light chain and the 2024 McDonald criteria for multiple sclerosis: a retrospective cohort study.
comparatorMcDonald2017-positive cases
findingsMcDonald2024-positive vs. McDonald2024-negative cases showed higher age-corrected sNfL Z-scores (median 0.28[IQR 0.76] vs. -0.12[0.82], p = 0.003/pFDR = 0.006)
biological targetssNfL
populationParticipants with asymptomatic MRI findings or clinical presentations not meeting the 2017 criteria
biomarkersSerum neurofilament light chain (sNfL) and 3T brain MRI measures-including normalised brain volumes, T2 lesion load (T2LL), cortical lesion (CL) and paramagnetic rim lesion (PRL)-were compared between McDonald2024-positive and McDonald2024-negative groups, and with age/sex matched McDonald2017-positive cases according to the 2017 criteria; predictors of disease activity were assessed using penalised-Cox regression.
limitationsTitle: Serum neurofilament light chain and the 2024 McDonald criteria for multiple sclerosis: a retrospective cohort study.
peer reviewedPublication types: Journal Article
subjectsMETHODS: Participants with asymptomatic MRI findings or clinical presentations not meeting the 2017 criteria were included and stratified according to the 2024 criteria.

AI assessment, not yet reviewed by a person · version 1 · Community votes are separate from evidence review.

0

Discussion 0 comments

Log in or join to comment.