Childhood MS: Effects of Ocrelizumab and Ofatumumab in Mice
In a study of 41 patients treated with ocrelizumab or ofatumumab, only 2% experienced a clinical relapse after 3 months, and an annualized relapse rate of 0.012 was noted. Additionally, 7% had new or enlarged MRI lesions, while 12% experienced mild infusion reactions. No patients stopped treatment due to adverse effects.
- Tags
- #MSResearch
- Most relevant to
- —
Why it matters
These findings indicate strong safety and effectiveness profiles for ocrelizumab and ofatumumab, which can aid treatment decisions in managing childhood multiple sclerosis.
What this does not prove
The study is limited by its short follow-up period, which restricts long-term conclusions about efficacy and safety.
Next milestone
No next milestone was established from the available source.
Study facts
- Study design
- Not reported
- Participants / samples
- 41 · basis not reported
- Randomised
- Not reported
- Controlled
- Not reported
- Primary endpoint met
- Yes
- Relevant MS type
- Not reported
- Publication date
- 2026-09-21
- Evidence reviewed
- Abstract only
- Regulatory approval
- Not reported
- Research areas
- Not classified
Original sources
- Primary evidenceReal-World Outcomes of Ocrelizumab and Ofatumumab Treatment in Pediatric-Onset Multiple Sclerosis. ↗DOI: 10.1007/s40272-026-00778-x
Supporting passages (6)
sample sizeRESULTS: Forty-one patients were included, with mean age at diagnosis of 15 years (range 8-17 years).
interventiontreated with either ocrelizumab or ofatumumab.
primary endpoint metclinical relapse or radiologic worsening with new/enlarging T2 or gadolinium-enhancing lesions on magnetic resonance imaging.
findingsOnly 1/41 (2%) experienced a clinical relapse occurring > 3 months after ocrelizumab initiation, with an annualized relapse rate of 0.012.
limitationsAlthough limited by a short follow-up period, our real-world findings provide safety and effectiveness data to inform DMT selection and shared decision making with families.
publication datePublication date: 2026-09-21
AI assessment, not yet reviewed by a person · version 1 · Community votes are separate from evidence review.